Mexi-Ranch Dressing

Last weekend I went to Muskegon with some family and friends to try out a restaurant called “Hobo’s Tavern”. Ryan and I had seen it driving by and thought it looked like an interesting place.

I’m a picky eater, so at dinner I decided just to order a Santa Fe Chicken Salad (with a side of fries, of course). Turns out it was a great decision. The salad was fairly simple: lettuce, cheese, tortilla strips and a chicken breast that had some sort of southwest marinade smothered all over it. But the best part of the salad was their homemade Mexi-Ranch Dressing.

This stuff was amazing! Of course when I got home I had to see if I could find a recipe that might mimic Hobo’s version. After eliminating some online recipes that were mayonnaise-based, I stumbled across this one: (http://www.itsacookbook.com/viewPublicRecipe?id=166)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 C. Ranch Dressing
  • 1/2 C. Sour Cream
  • 1/4 C. Taco Sauce

 

Directions

  • Mix all three ingredients together, blend until smooth.
  • Cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before using.

I already had the sour cream and ranch, so after a quick stop for taco sauce I was good to go (I picked it up from Aldi’s and to be totally honest, it tastes just like any other brand name sauce I’ve had).

After a few taste tests, I decided to add my own little spin onto it with one ingredient:

  • 1-2 tbs of taco seasoning

Can you say y-u-m? 


It may not look like much, but this stuff packs a great flavor. I’d put it on a salad like I had at the restaurant, or I’ve discovered it also goes great on sandwiches too (which is husband approved!)

This stuff was SO easy to make and it makes about a cup to a cup and a half of dressing. Perfect for sharing with guests… or keeping all to yourself!

About slbwright

I may or may not be obsessed with Superhero movies. And pizza.
This entry was posted in Appetizers,Dips & Extras, Like New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

