Taco Soup

I love soups. Hot soups and cold days were made for each other. But I won’t lie; I’ll eat soup regardless of what kind of weather we’re having. 95 degrees and humid as all get out? Not a problem.

I also love tacos. Taco seasoning goes well with almost anything. Taco salad, chicken fajitas, dip, donuts… Okay maybe not donuts. Or ice cream. That might be weird too.

Anyways, a year ago a friend of mine introduced me to the perfect marriage of these two things: Taco Soup. Although, it’s more like a chili in some ways than a soup.

I changed up the recipe a bit to fit my needs (I absolutely hate beans with a fiery passion), but the great thing about Taco Soup is that you can really try many different variations and still have a great meal.

Here’s my recipe:

1 pound of hamburger meat

1 Large can of Tomato sauce (or 2 – 8 oz cans)

Taco seasoning

Half a can of corn

1 small can of diced green chiles

Water

Shredded Cheddar Cheese (Or Colby-jack or Taco Blend)

 

Brown hamburger meat in a large enough pan for the whole meal. Drain off the excess fat, and add taco seasoning plus about half a cup to ¾ cup of water. Mix well, and cook the meat until all the water is absorbed.

Add tomato sauce and water. Depending on your preference of soup thickness, add more or less water. I usually do a ratio of tomato sauce to water as 2:1.5, but as the soup cooks I may add more water. Stir in corn and green chiles. Half a can of corn should be plenty, and I’ll usually save that extra corn for another meal. For the chiles, I like to blend them in my Magic Bullet so the flavor spreads better throughout the whole soup, but you can add them just as they are.

At this point you’re just trying to get the soup to a good heat, but for me I like a little less tomato flavor and a lot more taco flavor, so I’ll add more taco seasoning until desired yumminess. Like I said; you can change up the recipe however you like, so if you like diced tomatoes and beans, add those in too. Shoot, add diced jalapeños if you are feeling adventurous!

Once the soup is at an acceptable heat, dish it up into bowls and garnish with cheese. And to save on cleaning dishes, eat this tasty soup with tortilla chips or Doritos. Yum.

This soup can be a stand-alone meal, or I’ve found it goes well with a nice salad or cornbread muffins (with honey drizzled on top, of course!). There you have it! An easy soup that is sure to please the masses. But don’t feel too inclined to share – it also does great as leftovers for lunch the next day.

About slbwright

I may or may not be obsessed with Superhero movies. And pizza.
This entry was posted in Like New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

